Trip to a Carrier Hotel

The Book: 325 Hudson: The Birth of a Carrier Hotel

IMG_8975

We had the opportunity to check out a “Carrier Hotel” – the place where the world’s core networks link together. We saw where transatlantic cables came into the building and many connections and wires housed in “Meet me rooms.” It was very neat and cable managed— which I loved, but previously pictured something more messy.

In a new age of “cloud” computing- when I tell my students analogies to their data flying through bridges in the sky, it was fun to see the physical cables- grounding my perceptions and opening my eyes to the amazing reality of the infrastructure of how we communicate.

IMG_8976

Leave a Reply

